Dedicated to SS501 4D Leader Kim Hyun Joong

[Pexers Write-Ups] Celebrity Blogs in Times of Crisis


Author:  AprilStarr  https://www.facebook.com/HyunniesPexers

Scan Credit:  DSCS-KHJ

Somebody said with fame and money scandal and shame inevitably follows.Who else gets fame and money but celebrity. With these two, power is not far behind and perhaps notoriety as well.

Celebrity blogs do exist and does service to further the celebrity reach to existing and potential fans. Celeb blogs amplify celeb power in times of success and achievements.

But what if the celebrity is suddenly thrown into quagmires.What does the blog do or ought to do ?

Should it function as mouthpiece for the celeb’s side, present both sides of the issue, act as forum for fans to ventilate their aggravations,anxieties, clarify what is at stake and grounds to do damage control? Should it be a venue for support of the celeb?

Blogs who are independent of the celebrity, meaning unpaid and do not serve as publicist have more leeways to write what needs to be said. It isn’t conflicted regarding loyalty and trust issues. It can also do public censure. Certainly blogs inevitably touch upon social and cultural values as well as sensitivity to its readers’ sensibilities. Somehow, it is said, such cannot be avoided.

Some blogs have lost their raison d’etre (reason for existing ) as a result of the celeb incidents. Though some as with crisis found what happened as opportunities rather than danger.

It is time to examine the blog’s role (s). Give me your thoughts.

30 responses

  1. denci68

    Please don’t give up, he needs our support, and we need a place, where we can express our feelings without missunderstanding.
    I’ve posted this on a Lazerkim article before, just would like to share with you too…
    I will appreciate and treasure him no matter what the end of this horrible situation will be. He has brought light to my life in the last years, and nobody can steal this memories from me.
    I can’t erase a song from my mind. It’s from Chess musical. This part of the lyrics remind me his circumstances…

    …Then they move in
    Oh so discreetly
    Slowly at first
    Smiling too sweetly
    I opened doors
    They walked right through them
    Called me their friend
    I hardly knew them

    Now I’m where I want to be and who I want to be and doing what I
    always said I would and yet I feel I haven’t won at all
    Running for my life and never looking back in case there’s
    someone
    right behind to shoot me down and say he always knew I’d fall.

    Don’t get me wrong
    I’m not complaining
    Times have been good
    Fast, entertaining
    But what’s the point
    If I’m concealing
    Not only love
    All other feeling.

    Now I’m where I want to be and who I want to be and doing what I
    always said I would and yet I feel I haven’t won at all
    Running for my life and never looking back in case there’s
    someone right behind to shoot me down and say he always knew I’d fall

    When the crazy wheel slows down
    Where will I be? Back where I started.

    It wouuld be good if he never could feel this way….

    Friday, August 29, 2014 at 5:44 am

  2. pichaya-kung

    Fighting !!! Hyun joong . I believe in you. I will be beside you.

    Thursday, August 28, 2014 at 10:50 pm

  3. nana

    what ever his doing i still support him,belive him and love him.let the haters be the haters as long we all do our best to be beside him and sheld him for all the haters….i will support and love him forever….oppa fighting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thursday, August 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm

  4. Concerned

    Really can’t stop thinking about this…worried and sad. It’s robbed me of my peaceful sleep too. Accusations are such a contradiction to this interview from April 2014. Doesn’t add up or seem real. Just crazy. Waiting…

    http://www.kdramastars.com/articles/19810/20140417/kim-hyun-joong-admits-to-dating-secretly.htm

    Thursday, August 28, 2014 at 11:48 am

  5. soo

    And by the way, it must be very painful for him that a friend who know for 2 years turn against him least expected.. especially to the extend of accusing him in public, disclosed his personal stuff to the media… other than the strong feeling of privacy is invaded.. must be very difficult and painful experience… he might found hopeless and lost the direction on what to do next..

    Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 11:01 pm

  6. soo

    But what if the celebrity is suddenly thrown into quagmires.What does the blog do or ought to do ?
    Answer: The bigger the crisis, the more important the blog play its part. It comforts the fans as well as KHJ.
    It is necessary to hear from him before being affected. It requires courage to be different and stay hopeful for upcoming news. Blog will promotes that. Isn’t it?

    Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 10:48 pm

  7. Kay

    Have no delusions regarding KHJ. He is human and as such has frailties. IF he has committed a crime, he will be punished —and deservedly so. Violence is never the answer no matter who starts it. I am sorry for everyone who loves him —family, friends and fans. I’m hoping this issue will be resolved fairly, and IF KHJ has a problem, whether it be drinking or psychological, I’m betting he will get help and resolve to become a better person.

    Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 12:25 pm

  8. dapurbased

    If he s innocent .. case close. If he s guilty .. he really need some kind of help frm us .. u wl not abandon ur family mbr rite .. he s our hyung .. our oppa .. our brother .. i ll stand by his side whtevr the verdict .. my way. – me .. not henecia but y.e.s .. aft ol .. v r triple s –

    Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 10:20 am

  9. FanJong, you are right. love him and support him.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 10:56 pm

  10. atiq

    To be honest, this case has destroyed part of my spirit abt him and the remainder still hanging there to believe him, to giving him a chance and to love him always tru out my life as long as if he could answer all the questions we need. I hve no other idol in my heart even in my own country. Only him. I even love him more than my hubby ( lol ). He sooths me everytime and i want to see him again. I pray that everything will be alright with him and this case will be solved peacefully. T__T

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 10:22 pm

  11. atiq

    I’ve read the latest article of ” photos n text messages ” n make me wondering, how could all those been exposed to public by this so-called ‘trusted resources’ website?? where they get them from? i don’t think police has breached their responsiblity by giving the informations to them. Or this GF A was trying to gain attentions by giving them the infos? How can they let this circulating in all social media? Hyunjoong has been accused and sentenced without proper trial by court instead by those so-called fans and haters.

    I don’t know why but I’m so sad right now and angry too bcos people can simply bashing n insulting him with harsh n vulgar words without him there to protect himself. I believe something has bothered him moment he put his hand on her. Since 2011 until now 2014 he has been very crazily busy with all his schedules and so on. As same as most of u all,if he really did it, i hope he can comes out n admitted all his wrongdoings, get healed, go take rest or army, build up himself n comeback for us. We will definitely forgive n forget all those unfortunate memories…T__T

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 9:39 pm

  12. luvkhj

    what ever it is, i will always love khj..love to hear his lovely voice..love to turn his music on..i will never leave you khj..thank you @aprilstar..

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 8:53 pm

  13. vin

    Jz read some news in kpop stars. Really really not looking good. Hyun joong ah! please say something. I m getting nervous.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 8:07 pm

  14. Noya

    Thank you for continuing support! This was really needed those days!:)

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 7:18 pm

  15. vin

    Yours the first blog i read every morning to get news of him. every morning for 4 years now. Don’t stop writing n don’t stop supporting him ps. I don’t know what to do if u stop. Evidences is. not on his side. I m worried. Keep thinking of him. If he is guilty I hope he apologize n repent n fans won’t leave him. I do not like girl or wife being abused. Hearing this I am so unbelievable. But I don’t think I leave him. Just want him to apologize n continue to b his fan. I hope his girlfriend jz make a mountain out of a molehill. Hope it is not this bad.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 7:16 pm

  16. aprilstarr

    Thanks for your thoughts, dears. I would be lying if I say I am not affected. My heart is heavy. It is an uneasy, difficult time for all of us. The moment you become a fan you are invested. You, we have made our choice.

    HJ is undergoing trial by publicity. There are those who already indicted him. We have yet to hear his side. We must not be swayed by what is circulating around, nor cast the stone at any parties involved. We must keep an open mind, an understanding heart, an appreciation what makes us all human.

    The truth will set him free.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    • bella

      dear aprils,

      Love your words. ” The truth will set him free “

      Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 7:37 pm

  17. please don’t stop i love reading your blog, you are the only way i know what’s happening with kim hyun joong. I’m still support him, he needs our support most right now

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:36 pm

  18. It is your blog, you created it to tell people what you feel not to tell them what they want to hear. If others doesn’t like it then so be it. You can’t please everyone, specially these days when everyone thinks they know everything. As long as you’re not stepping on someone else’s toes continue blogging. Haters will always hate and bashers will always bash.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:30 pm

  19. CAGOME

    APRILSTARR,IS VERY IMPORTANT YOUR SUPPORT FOR OUR ONLY ONE!THANK YOU FOR ALL WHAT YOU DO!PLEASE KEEP DOING WHAT YOU DOING.IS SPECIAL AND BEAUTIFUL!

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    • CAGOME

      I THINK HE CAN DO VERY GOOD MOVIE WITH HIS STORY OF LIFE.IS OVERWHELMING .AND MANY PEOPLE CAN LEARN WHAT MEANS TO BE STRONG AND BEAUTIFUL MAN LIKE HIM.OUR ONLY ONE IS VERY SPECIAL AND SENSIBLE MAN.I THINK HE MUST BE STRONG AND MUST TAKE GOOD PART OF THIS STORY.THIS STORY HAVE A GOOD PART FOR HIM.A LOT HUGE FREE PUBLICITY.

      Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      • CAGOME

        WE ARE HERE TO LOVE AND TO SUPPORT HIM WHATEVER HE DO.BCS I AM SURE HE IS VICTIM IN THIS STORY.

        Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:39 pm

      • CAGOME

        IS NOT MEGA CRISIS IN THIS CAREER.HE MUST GO ON AND NOT LET PEOPLE WHAT WANT TO DO THIS STORY A CRISIS.HE IS A SUPERSTAR,A VERY TALENTED ARTIST,VERY SPECIAL AND SENSIBLE MAN,AND HE ALWAYS PROVE HIS HONESTY.IN LOVE AND IN WAR NO RULES.MAYBE THAT GIRL CHALLENGE HIM BCS SHE WANT MONEY AND FAME.WHATEVER SHE WANT I THINK SHE IS A SNAKE,NOT DESERVE HIS LOVE AND TO BE IN HIS LIFE.HOPE HE WILL IN HIS LIFE PEOPLE WHAT LOVE AND RESPECT AND PROTECT HIM,NOT SNAKES.

        Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:44 pm

  20. Bella

    dear aprittS,

    I love your blog and all your write up . I hope it’ s not too much to say that I also trust your
    Judgement as we’ll. All I knew is HJ is one of good persons in this society. If finally this one is proved he is guilty it does not change the good person he was , he is and he will be. One mistake did not turn a good person to be a bad person. everybody can learn from a mistake and can make a mistake. Everybody need a place that they can trust , feel safe and can find justice . In this case HJ was already a victim of online discussion which is so unfair for him .For the girl we don’t know who she is and what kind of person she was we only know HJ. I would not say more about this as it is a sensitive issue.

    For this blog I would like to see it the same as it use to be. in the . crisis like this we can keep talking good thing about him as it is also the fact that we can touch without blaming anyone. Encouraging good energy of a person is not harm .

    For HJ the trust and support from the ones who love him will help him goes through this mega crisis of his career.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 1:46 pm

  21. JAZU

    blogs are created under a specific topic, in this case about Kim Hyun Joong, there are many of them, think that they will be without ground for his mistake i dont think, recently l wrote my oipnion about it but l found that some antifans went there to irrespect their opinions. truly upset, so think that they should find blogs where they really can insult a lot not bothering others. As a true fan l forgive him, l know that he learns a lot from it. seeing him like a son to care and suport after his mistake. we will continue reading this blog and other which we like too much.
    thanks
    jazu

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 1:13 pm

  22. julia10047

    Dispatch – most deceitful! Lying, apparently from a personal benefit for themselves. Someone paid them, or how to understand their position.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 12:42 pm

  23. atiq

    its all up to u wether u believe in him or not….we who come here always to know all good things abt him….i think as long as ur article has not blamed any of them who were involve in this case, it doesn’t matter….we who still here will always by his side…

    so, what is ur stand on this case?

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 12:27 pm

  24. You just keep doing what your doing. I’ll keep reading what your writing.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 12:18 pm

  25. fanJoong

    I’m worried about our boy.
    But I’m sure I love him more and more.
    Support him forever.

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 11:02 am

    • nada

      Me too…I love him.

      Thursday, August 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

