Dedicated to SS501 4D Leader Kim Hyun Joong

[Pexers Write-Ups] The Coming Interregnum


Author:  AprilStarr  Pexers Write-Ups on FB

To someone working in the forefront of the entertainment field nothing is more daunting than to have that dreaded interruption when one is at the peak of one’s career. In South Korea males of certain age render Military Service to the nation as a mandatory duty with just several exemptions.

The two years break from work in dramas, film, musical or theatrical stage and other allied departments mean being out of the limelight.or spotlight. Whether it is admitted or not the fear of being replaced by another star waiting at the wings is very real. Equally unsettling is returning to regain the once dominated place where the competition has become very stiff. The dream factories are busy producing young performers saturating the domestic market where Kpop idols have already made inroads in dramas and films as well.

In South Korea, where children early on have their eyes trained on becoming performers, don’t have a dearth of naturally talented kids that did not even need many years of performer’s schooling. Watch any Korean drama on any given day and you will be witness to naturally endowed thespians’ abilities rivaling if not surpassing those of the adults.

The entertainment field to say the least is getting crowded with the return of overseas South Koreans to the homeland as competitors with the extra added skills in foreign language specially English. Yet thanks to the spread of Hallyu to various countries, actors, singers, models, directors and their work are exported thus expanding the playing field.

Some actors opt to render their 2 years Military Service when still young and not yet ascended the ladder of success. Others postpone doing it for a number of excuses such as work in progress, schooling or even feigning illness to get exempted. Several actors were caught using methods to dodge the draft.

Celebrity observers take note of the departures and arrivals of the stars. Some stars are still in the the radar of drama watchers and movie/ concert goers if they were in good standing when they left. It is always good to be favored and remembered by entertainment bloggers and media to easily slip back to prominence. An aggressive talent agency to secure jobs for them are pluses,too. Equally important is to be wanted by producers and directors for their next assignments. Some performers in fact are able to land comebacking projects even while in MS.

What if the celebrity is a forgettable one, or involved in some scandal when they left? Maybe they will need a makeover or new packaging when they return.It is not impossible to do a fresh start or to reinvent the new and improved version of the former celebrity. They usually start making the rounds of talk shows to announce they are back for business.If the promo is right,they soon will be swamped with casting offers.Their fanbase also help drumbeat their return with fanmeets or other forms of get together to announce their star’s availability.

The newly released males from MS usually are physically robust, goodlooking, fresh and eager to circulate again. Some are very successful reintegrating right away. Other’s re entry sometimes take a while. The important thing is to be remembered well, leave memorable works and to be missed.

Finally,the fans are playing bigger roles nowadays to assure the places of their admired celebrities. They are the supporters, the rah rah mostly girls, campaigners and organizers of events for anniversaries in showbiz, birthdays and other activities such as sendoffs and welcomes, projects and others. The celebrity must be in touch with their fanbase though others prefer a quiet time for departure and return.

Let me give you a spot quiz on being a celeb savvy in his/their absence.Please answer truthfully. No cheating.

  1. Will you miss Hyun Joong when he leaves for MS in the not so far away time?
    o Yes
    o No
    o Maybe
    o Will look for another celeb
  2. How will you remember him?
    o Rewatch past works
    o Read articles written about him
    o Rewatch old videos of concerts,excepts of shows in Youtube
    o Have frequent meets with other fans
    o Look for other celeb
    o Others specify
  3. What works of his are kind of seminal works or trail blazers?
    o Early stage
    o Solo performances
    o Variety shows
    o Dramas
    o Others specify
  4. What will you do as a fan in his absence?
    o Help maintain a club
    o Help maintain a blog
    o Energize membership
    o Work on a project in his name
    o Others specify

 

Tweet Credit:

KHJ artmatic dance update Facebook by:송양호

28 responses

  1. Kat

    I do not idolise or follow any actor as a fan but i will not stop watching his dramas or listening to his songs.

    Wednesday, September 24, 2014 at 8:41 pm

  2. BibiannaLambert

    I am his fan since his SS501 day and my sons grew up watching his drama. I bought all his albums. Keep all his interviews and videos. How can I forget him? For the last ten years, how many new artists debut but I stick to Kim Hyun Joong and support him no matter what.
    I will be glad to be part of any project for his release from MS. If this blog continue to update I will be here.

    Saturday, September 20, 2014 at 10:49 am

  3. aprilstarr

    It’s understandable that many of us lament the current state of Kpop entertainment where celebrities and their fans are abused by anonymous beings. The use of cyberspace as a platform has gone out of control . The use of the internet to attack individuals and foment fan wars is no laughing matter.

    Somebody got to invent ways to prevent these malevolent people to prevail in blogs. But as what pointed out by Allie,et al the practice is encouraged by misreporting, deliberate distortion of facts to entice readers.

    HJ was not only made guilty without trial, he was labelled and called names. Perhaps what is upsetting is we may never know the whole story. But we are just outsiders,our noses press against the window looking in.

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 11:36 pm

  4. Tina

    girls you all need to tell him that in messages on his website.

    I’m starting to think that we should prepare something for him when he gets out of MS but what what exactly should we prepare?? maybe tons of flower bouquets or something and also a comforting message before he leaves.

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 7:42 pm

  5. Cagome

    Thank you Aprilsarr for your words.For me is difficult to think will come that moment when he must go in his MS.I will be here every day and night thinking at him and supporting him with my soul,to make he feel life is beautiful even in MS.I am sure he will like MS experience bcs he is true and brave man and he is always man of honor.

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 6:56 pm

  6. Noya

    Are you kidding, how can I leave someone who became integral part of my daily life. I believe in Hj and believe he has so much more to give and achieve, no way giving up on him and never during those times, he needs all the support.

    All for One and One for All! “)

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 4:59 pm

  7. elena

    as a new fan of Kim Hyun Joong (just July of this year when i came across BOF) i never been a fan of K-Pop but since i knew him i became a K-Pop addict but only for Kim Hyun Joong. For me, going to MS is a breather for him in the competitive world of K-Pop. I will always with him until MS concluded. Since a new fan i will watch his performances, drama and concerts from 2005 with his SS501 days until the last shows in year 2014. i will welcome him back after MS with open hearts. I became interested of Korean culture,traditions, and places when i became his fans. I don’t care about the recent so called scandal because when i knew him and watch his shows, he proved to me as a good person with good hearts and a person of intellect. as i have known day by day by watching every drama, every shows, and every concerts my admiration grows deeper and deeper each day.
    a loving brother to his elder brother and a good son to his parents. KHJ good luck to whatever you will do in your life. i will always forever be your fan. Fighting!!! ” Ai Shite Iru”

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    • atiq

      wow…i admire u Elena….how can u still have a faith on him eventho u were new knowing him only 2 months? Seriously, u mean just this July? this 2 months time? Other Hyunjoong fans who called themselves a True fans ( so-called ) that have been knowing him for many years could easily left him, ignore n even hate like a hell once they heard abt this horrible thing. But you still be with him. I salute u for that. Welcome to KHJ world Elena. Nice meeting u at the time like this.

      Friday, September 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    • jam

      Same here elena , im also a new fan.i started to be a fan of kim hyun joong ,february of this year after ive watched BOF then WGM wherein i appreciated the true KHJ esp his 4Dness. I tried to watch all his previous variety shows, clips, concerts with ss501 members, solo concerts etc.He is a part of my everyday life indeed. I dont mind the scandal he WAS in. Im not after his personal life. I believed in him that it was only an altercation between two persons which happens to every human in an intimate relationship. KHJ is a human too. So even i will not be seeing you in the limelight for 2 yrs because of MS, until then I’ll always be your fan. You are my idol forever.

      Friday, September 19, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    • Tina

      waaw Elena and Jam welcome, what you say proves that I’m not wrong you can truly feel how pure and honest he is and that’s why you didn’t believe the media, it makes me so happy to know I’m not alone who can feel this and makes happy too that he is this way.

      Friday, September 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm

  8. Dragon Lady

    KHJ should not even worry. All his fans will be waiting for him after his MS. I will take a break from Kdrama and come back once he is out of the MS. From time to time, I will still watch all his music videos and TV dramas. KHJ stay strong and be healthy. There are so many things that he can do after MS. He has been in this business for 10 years, he can start his own business just like Yang Hyun-Suk of YG entertainment or make movies instead of TV dramas.

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 1:49 pm

  9. nada

    Yes!!!ABSOLUTELY..miss Him! As usual will rewatch again all his mv,fancam and read all the article again n again,from you and our sister lazer kim.Will miss him n waiting for him to come back.Only Him.Sound like Iam crazy but thats true.Wish more blessing for him… Hope his mother strong enough to carry on this matter.

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 8:23 am

  10. Edith Edrada

    Will you miss Hyun Joong when he leaves for MS in the not so far away time?

    o Yes! Absolutely. ..

    How will you remember him?

    o Rewatch past works o Read articles written about him o Rewatch old videos of concerts,excepts of shows in Youtube o Have frequent meets with other fans o all the above

    What works of his are kind of seminal works or trail blazers? o Early stage o Solo performances o Variety shows o Dramas o all the above

    What will you do as a fan in his absence?

    o Help maintain a club o Help maintain a blog o Energize membership o Work on a project in his name o patiently wait for him:)

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 6:39 am

  11. Allie

    After 7 years of being Hyun Joong’s fan, I have no intention of going anywhere. I have enough videos and music of his to keep me occupied for several years so even though he will be out of sight he won’t be out of mind. But his military service will be a nice break for me. The kpop fan world has changed since I started being a fan and being perfectly honest it hasn’t changed for the better. It used to be fun but somewhere along the line that changed. I’ve felt this way for awhile now but this last disasterous mess just solidified those feelings. Companies thriving for money and some groups and artists thriving for fame is part of the problem but the disgusting media and those kpop sites are most of the problem, especially for non Korean speaking fans. When kpop became money making news everything started going down hill and fast. Fans, out of the goodness of their hearts and with no compensation necessary except maybe a big thank you, used to translate everything and used to sub videos for those who could not speak Korean. Scandals (I hate that word) were resolved and forgotten before they even started. If you were a fan of a group or artist you followed them. If you weren’t you didn’t and you left them alone and out of respect you definitely left fans of that group or artist alone. In today’s kpop fandom people thrive on bringing down other groups and artists and have no respect for their fans. In trying to bring their favorites up and “prove” their favorites are the best, in their minds anyway, they have to attempt to destroy any other group or artist no matter what they have to do, including lying. It stopped being about the group or artist you love and became about the ones you hate. I became a fan of kpop to get away from all that! The media and those kpop sites thrive on the ugly behavior and fanwars. Views for their shows and clicks for their sites are the only thing they care about and they will do anything to get those views and clicks. Sadly the fans have fallen into the trap and the kpop fandom has suffered greatly because of it. I know there are so many wonderful fans out there as I have seen on this blog and others but it seems the haters are overwhelming everything. Social media, such as twitter, while great for the fans to get information quickly, is also an easy, quick, and convenient way for hate and lies to spread. It also helps those who want to hurt a group or artist to gain easy access to them. It has tainted the innocence of being a kpop fan and I fear it will forever be tarnished. So while I will always be Hyun Joong’s fan I am really looking forward to getting away from all that other crap for awhile. This site will be the only one I keep in my favorites list. Everything else that has to do with kpop will be deleted. Hopefully when Hyun Joong gets back things will go back to being fun and respectful again. Well I can dream…

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 5:27 am

  12. aprilstarr

    His notice for enlistment is for next month, October this year. He requested for postponement for early next year to be able to finish some projects including another TV drama. Actually, it was mission accomplished, if I am say so tongue in cheek, as he had already finished a drama- only we were involved not just passive audiences.

    Friday, September 19, 2014 at 3:04 am

    • BibiannaLambert

      Aprilstar, i hate sad and angst drama, hope he has a better drama maybe a comedy but his natural 4dness already funny.

      Saturday, September 20, 2014 at 10:43 am

  13. Kay

    Great article. If the fan base remains loyal I think KHJ will have a fighting chance when he returns from service. However, what choices he will make afterwards might surprise us. He will have had time for reflection. He seems to be a person who is driven and knew what he wanted at an early age. Those who have worked with him had only good words for him—humble, thankful, hardworking. This guy was burning the candle at both ends. Projects , one after the other. If I were him, the army would be a welcomed respite. A time of self reflection, I time to heal, a time to take the spot life off himself and directed towards a worthwhile duty. I recall reading that when he first interviewed with Keyeast, he asked BYJ if the latter was happy. To me that will be something KHJ will be asking himself. He has enough money now so can retire from show biz and do something else. He talked about a scuba shop in Jeju. Also, maybe his marriage timetable will change. From what I can see, his fans are loyal. They will see an exhausted, penetrant person off to service, and what kind of person will they see when those 21 months are over is anyone’s guess. It will be interesting who of his SS501 members will be there, before and after.

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 10:53 pm

  14. Tina

    By the way girls I’m only his fan from 2013, I knew about korea and the K-pop world and SS501 only from 2013 so I’ve been his fan for only 1 year and yet I love him sooooo much soooo much and I don’t know how I became to love him this much but I do, when I first heard about the scandal I truly couldn’t believe it and before I heard it I felt something was wrong and then I knew what exactly is wrong when atiq replied to my comment since I don’t read any other website to get news about him except this website and his own website, but I truly felt like he could never ever ever do something like that or do anything wrong, the reason I know this is because I can feel his soul being so pure from hearing him sing and watching reality shows like “Thanks for waking me up” and others and when I see him with children, in all this I felt like he was an angel and I am truly thankful to God for letting me know him and also thankful to his parents for bringing him up that beautifully.

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    • ChenchenZues

      I FEEL YOU!! we both in love with this person in the same year. IT was so sad that, I myself haven’t done anything for him.. now entering MS.. this close.. GOD I wish I have more time!!..

      Friday, September 19, 2014 at 11:54 am

      • Tina

        yeah me too, I feel shocked that it is this close, I thought it was maybe march or april 2015, however it’s a chance for him to rest a bit from the media and all the stress of his work, I kind of feel that he will find MS easier than his job, at least he will eat right and sleep enough time.

        Friday, September 19, 2014 at 7:55 pm

  15. Tina

    1- yes I will miss him, I already miss him so much.

    2- I will rewatch past works and TV shows and every video he is in on the web.

    3-all his work is a masterpiece of art to me.

    4- I will rewatch and rehear every thing he made and pray for him to be safe and come back better and with more beautiful art and also will revisit this blog to chat with you guys and try to perfect Korean and travel to Korea (I really wish if I can meet his mother to thank her personally for bringing him to the world) and maybe become better in Graphic art and do art work featuring him.

    I don’t listen to any other K-pop star or watch any korean drama unless he is in it, and it will stay the same during his absence.

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 10:14 pm

  16. aprilstarr

    You all pass the test unequivocally giving what sounds like pledges of undying loyalty …sounding like being engaged to the beloved assuring him yes, I/ we will be here for you ! Thanks for being straight forward and knowing what to do for reinforcement.

    Though we don’t know yet if his request for postponement of a few months has been granted, it is good to be ready. Ultimately it is going to happen.

    We can form our circle of love to surround him. Most of all to wish him safety and continue being in high spirits and good health.

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    • Tina

      is it really scheduled really soon??

      Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 10:04 pm

  17. 1. Of course i will miss him.

    2.Like what I always do

    Re watch past works
    Read articles written about him
    Re watch old videos of concerts excerpts of shows in youtube
    Since I don’t know any fan of him personally, then I’ll meet you here and talk to online friends whom are fans too.

    3. I think his first solo album Break Down and Round 3 album since it got into Billboards Charts and of course BOF and Inspiring Generation where he showed everyone he can act, yeah boy!

    4. I’ll maintain my blog for him and if anyone asks for help in a project for him I’d gladly do it. ^^

    I’ve done it with the dongsaengs I’ll definitely do it for leader. He’s like my first born, I wouldn’t know about the others if it wasn’t for him. He made me happy in times when I’m down, it’s the least I could give back for him.

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 7:57 pm

  18. ChenchenZues

    Thou I feel sad answering this..

    1. Will you miss Hyun Joong when he leaves for MS in the not so far away time?
    x Yes

    2. How will you remember him?

    x Rewatch past works
    x Read articles written about him (except those trash blog/site)
    x Rewatch old videos of concerts,excepts of shows in Youtube
    x Have frequent meets with other fans (thou I am not officially member in any fan clubs of him still, I am thrill to meet some of his fans)
    x Others specify __ Since I wasn’t able to watch his WT, I plan to complete all his album/LE

    3. What works of his are kind of seminal works or trail blazers?

    x All of them

    4. What will you do as a fan in his absence?

    x Help maintain a club (if I was given a chance)
    x Help maintain a blog (if I was given a chance)
    x Energize membership
    x Work on a project in his name ( If I was a given a chance, I would glad to help, aside from my work, I do voluntary services from time to time. So I am happy if there are some project that will launch for him specially charity event)
    x I am planning to collect all his albums and photo book, and plan to visit his rest next year!!..

    That’s it.. hays.. heavy heart!!!..

    Thank you!

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 6:33 pm

  19. fanJoong

    My choices (in X):

    1. Will you miss Hyun Joong when he leaves for MS in the not so far away time?
    X Yes
    o No
    o Maybe
    o Will look for another celeb

    2. How will you remember him?
    X Rewatch past works
    X Read articles written about him
    X Rewatch old videos of concerts,excepts of shows in Youtube
    X Have frequent meets with other fans
    o Look for other celeb
    o Others specify

    3. What works of his are kind of seminal works or trail blazers?
    o Early stage
    X Solo performances
    X Variety shows
    X Dramas
    o Others specify

    4. What will you do as a fan in his absence?
    o Help maintain a club
    X Help maintain a blog
    o Energize membership
    o Work on a project in his name
    o Others specify

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 5:59 pm

  20. atiq

    Thanks Aprilstar….good article as usual….okey i’ll try to answer your questions…

    1. Of course YESSSSS…i’m nuts if i’m not missing him so much..

    2. I guess i will watch again n again n again all his videos that i have in my lappy n also in youtube until the day he come back.

    3. Answer : All of above…everything he did, every works he completed is all precious to me that i can’t find in other idol/artist…he simply THE BEST!!

    4. Well..for me i can just being here updating abt him everytime since i love this blog. It has been almost 5 years i’ve been visited this blog and become true fans. I guess i can never involve in any activity or becoming member in any club coz i’m not able to do it. Its enough for me just to check abt him here n other blogs as well.

    Is that all we have to answer April? Is it enough to you? hehe….

    one more thing, what it says in the pic up there??

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 4:31 pm

  21. My honest answer ^^ :
    1. Yes i will, i’m quite sure of it
    2. Most probably i will do pint 1 to 3 at least once every 2 days^^. Not everyday like now
    3. I enjoy all of them,can’t choose only one
    4. At the moment, i think i will at least maintain my group fans of him through fb group and keep in touch with some of ‘sisters’ fans out there.

    Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

